70-290 help:trouble using import user objects using CSVDE

Discussion in 'Windows Server 2003 / 2008 / 2012 / 2016' started by jec69, Dec 4, 2008.

1. jec69

jec69 Bit Poster

Hey

I'm studying the MS press book server 2003 exam 70-290, and in chapter 3 page 3-29 exercise 3: Import User Objects Using CSVDE, it keeps saying syntax error on line 2 in command prompt. Here is the commands:

DN,objectClass,sAMAccountName,sn,givenName,userPrincipalName
    "CN=Danielle Tiedt,OU=Employees,
    DC=contoso,DC=com",user,dtiedt,Tiedt, Danielle,[email protected]
    "CN=Lorrin Smith-Bates,OU=Employees, DC=contoso,DC=com",user,lsmithbates,
    Smith-Bates,Lorrin,[email protected]

has anybody have had the same problem?

thanks

Certifications: A+ Network+
    WIP: MCSE
  2. Obinna Osobalu

Obinna Osobalu Banned

create three lines of text like this;

"CN=Danielle Tiedt,OU=Employees,
    DC=contoso,DC=com",user,dtiedt,Tiedt,Danielle,[email protected]

"CN=Lorrin Smith-Bates,OU=Employees, DC=contoso,DC=com",user,lsmithbates,Smith-Bates,Lorrin,[email protected]

Certifications: MCITP:SA,MCTS(x5),MCSE2K3;MCSA2K3:M;MCP
    WIP: EDA7,70-652,Project+,MSP(70-632)
  3. jec69

jec69 Bit Poster

It's given me a syntax error on line 3 now.

4. NightWalker

NightWalker Gigabyte Poster

You have a space in this bit on line 3 you need to remove:
    "CN=Lorrin Smith-Bates,OU=Employees, DC=contoso,DC=com"

Certifications: A+, Network+, MCP, MCSA:M 2003, ITIL v3 Foundation
  5. jec69

jec69 Bit Poster

Okay here is the full error report in command prompt:

Connecting to "(null)"
    Logging in as current user using SSPI
    Importing directory from file "c:\user.csv"
    Loading entries.
    Parsing error. Last read character is 32
    Syntax error on line 3
    0 entries modified successfully.
    An error has occurred in the program
    No log files were written. In order to generate a log file, please specify the log file path via the -j option.

thanks

6. geevee

geevee Bit Poster