CertForums.com IT Certification Forum Homepage
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Which path to go to become a database administrator?

You are viewing a topic in the Training & Development forum part of the Certification Support Forums category.

• Share:
    Bit Poster
    Liked
    0 times

Which path to go to become a database administrator?

Dear CF members

I have passed the A+ last year and recently i am studying the N+ (chapter 8 at the moment). I really want to become a database administrator, what training or certifcations would I need? How difficult is it to be a database administrator? The reason is because database admin seem to relate more to computer science. I might be wrong but I want to be clear about which cert I need.

Thanks for any advice in advance.

2. Posts

Liked
    0 times
    Hi welcome

How about doing Microsofts DBA cert you can use this link for the info on it http://www.microsoft.com/learning/mc...a/default.mspx

Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by jammed24 View Post
    Dear CF members

I have passed the A+ last year and recently i am studying the N+ (chapter 8 at the moment). I really want to become a database administrator, what training or certifcations would I need? How difficult is it to be a database administrator? The reason is because database admin seem to relate more to computer science. I might be wrong but I want to be clear about which cert I need.

Thanks for any advice in advance.
    What's your background in the IT & DB world(s)? You've mentioned studying N+ and passing the A+. These are great entry-level certs but I suspect getting an entry level DBA job will take real-world IT experience if not actual DB experience.