Studying A+ Essentials with Advent

Discussion in 'A+' started by zabar_ullah, May 9, 2008.

1. zabar_ullah

zabar_ullah Bit Poster

Hi Everyone,

Thanks in advance for reading my thread.

I'm Zabar just registered on the forums today. I am studying A+ Essentials 220-601 with Advent Computer Training using the manual they sent me.

They also sent me a Trancender CD with practice questions. When I tried the questions the first time I always failed, so I printed the questions and explainations for the correct and wrong answer. I then studied the printouts and done the practice exams again and now I tend to pass with 90% above easily.

I am slightly nervous, infact I am very nervous that I might not have the full grasp of the theory behind the exam. Could anyone please answer the following questions to relieve some stress:

Are the questions on the transender CD very similar to the real thing? (By this i mean when i prepared for my Driving theory test years back the questions in the book were more or less as the real thing, maybe worded differently).

I seem to find questions in the transender CD that I havent studied in the Advent Manual!! Has this occurred to anyone else? or am I not studying hard enough?

Is anyone here studying with Advent passed the 220-601 exam using the Advent Manual?

Does the second exam (220-602, i think!!!) look at the essential 220-601 in more detail or are the topics completely different? The reason why I ask this is because most people here have passed the first exam and plan to sit the next within a couple of weeks!!!!!!

I will leave it as this for now, and get back to studying.
    Thanks again for reading.

Regards,
    Zab

WIP: A+
  2. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

Hi and welcome to CF!

The problem with using the practice exam in the way you did is that you have now effectively memorized those questions. No wonder you are getting 90%.