Writing a new cv, any advice appreciated

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by beaumontdvd, Feb 26, 2010.

1. beaumontdvd

beaumontdvd Kilobyte Poster

Hi everyone, as I have a few days off to regain my strength from all that furniture moving. I am trying to write up a nice new cv that will get me that entry level job in IT that I have been trying to get for two years.

I know I will need to write that I'm looking for an entry level job, and basically what I know and why I studied for my certs. Also my hobbies and interests, and how I like to learn new aspects of IT.

Is there any main points anyone on CF would suggest to include before I do my first draft 8)?

Thanks anyone in advance,

Dave

Certifications: 070-271, 070-272, (MCDST)Level 1,2,3 NVQ
    WIP: 070-270, A+, N+, S+,MCDST 7 Upgrade
  2. cosway

cosway Nibble Poster

Just a quick note (I've found this useful to me)... :biggrin

If you use the internet for IT research (ie this forum) or even better have created a website for yourself or a club/organisation, include it in your hobbies and interests section, but make sure to spell it out, for example...

Under the hobbies and interests in my CV I have something along the lines of...

"During the last 6 months I have created a website for the karate club I am a member of, I used Dreamweaver to create the layout site, Photoshop to create the graphics and photos, I created an SQL database to hold member details, I created a small members section using PHP Programming to allow members to post messages...."

Just don’t go overboard – they may ask why you want this job if you could get a job as a web developer. :dry