WOW!

Discussion in 'Linux / Unix Discussion' started by Boycie, Aug 15, 2005.

1. Boycie
    Honorary Member

Boycie Senior Beer Tester

As a complete newbie to Linux I have to say how impressed i am with ubuntu. :D
    So much, so quick, so easy to use, lots of it and free!
    Some say don't bother with an anti-virus and some say just have a firewall. Any pointers either way. I have only had a quick play with it so far. Is there a firewall built in?

Certifications: MCSA 2003, MCDST, A+, N+, CTT+, MCT
  2. d-Faktor
    Honorary Member

d-Faktor R.I.P - gone but never forgotten.

just y'r regular iptables. https://wiki.ubuntu.com/IptablesHowTo

3. ffreeloader

ffreeloader Terabyte Poster

An easy to configure firewall is fiaif. It's just a script that you configure in a .conf file, but it works well and takes very few system resources. It configures IP tables, but is much easier to learn and work with. You can also use it for configuring masquerading.

As to antivirus, well, I don't have any antivirus on my Linux systems. However, there is a free one that I've used just to see how it works. It's called clamav and you should be able to install it using apt-get in Ubuntu. Not positive about that though. The negative about clamav is that if you use it to do real-time system protection it eats up a lot of system resources as it wasn't designed to do that. It was designed to work on an email server. What you'll find though is that it is designed to catch Windows viruses, as are the other AV products out there, and Window viruses won't affect a Linux machine.

Certifications: MCSE, MCDBA, CCNA, A+
    WIP: LPIC 1
  4. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster

Certifications: A+ and Network+
  5. ffreeloader

ffreeloader Terabyte Poster

Good links, trip.

Certifications: MCSE, MCDBA, CCNA, A+
    WIP: LPIC 1
  6. Boycie
    Honorary Member

Thanks for the input guys :D

7. Bluerinse
    Honorary Member

Bluerinse Exabyte Poster