What to say to a store owner?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by El Kabong, Feb 9, 2006.

1. El Kabong

El Kabong New Member

Hey guys, I'm currently studying for my A+ cert, and pursuing a degree in computer science. While in school, I'd like to work at a small computer shop to gain experience. I've pulled up a list of the shops around my city, and I'm going to a few of them this weekend. I know a few of you own or manage shops, so what exactly do you look for in an employee? Are they usually willing to take people with no formal experience? I'm a very quick learner, and I've been working on computers informally for a while. I'm just trying to figure out what I should say when I go to the store manager/owners, and what I could do to make them consider me. I'm looking for a somewhat part-time job, with a full time possibility during the summer. Thanks a lot ahead of time for any replies!

2. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

I can't really offer much advise on this subject, but what I can say is that if you don't give it a try, then you will never know.

Be professional in how you conduct yourself, make sure that they know you are not just some kid who think he know's it all, and that you are genuinely wanting to learn and gain experience.

You may find that if you volunteer your services (at first) that they will be more acomodating (sp?), as everyone likes to get something for free.

8)

3. Clyde

Clyde Megabyte Poster

In the dim distant past I used to work at a struggling little computer shop and we sometimes got lads like yourself calling in. Some we took onboard for a while on the understanding that we couldn't pay a salary but we would (and did) let them gain experience of A+ level stuff and when there was some cash, we did give payments to the lads... it worked for both parties.

If you're willing to go down that route they'll likely be takers. More established businesses ought to pay you...

good luck...