What "flavour" of linux?

Discussion in 'Linux / Unix Discussion' started by Big_nath, Mar 31, 2009.

1. Big_nath

Big_nath Kilobyte Poster

I have never used linux before. What "flavour" is the best for me to have a play about with? which am i most likely to come across in a work enviroment

Certifications: MCP, MCSA, MCSA:M, MCSE, MCTS
    WIP: A few
  2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

I'm not sure which is the best version of linux, however I've always had a soft spot for Fedora Core.

-Ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  3. Metalstar

Metalstar Kilobyte Poster

Fedora is Sponsored by REDHAT, which in turn is one of the more likely linux distros you will come across in the real world (in the workplace anyway)

openSUSE 11.1 is my recommendation though as I have had more success (and fun) playing with this than Fedora. If you are just starting out with linux then you cant really go wrong with either. They also have an enterprise version which you may come across in the work environment.

Ubuntu is a favorite if you want it to just work and be simple to play around with.

Any will do for learning the basics of the command line though, which I would definitely recommend doing!

Certifications: A+
    WIP: Network+
  4. Big_nath

Big_nath Kilobyte Poster

i have also been told centOS which is apparently a clone of redhat, is centOS recommended?

Certifications: MCP, MCSA, MCSA:M, MCSE, MCTS
    WIP: A few
  5. delorean

delorean Megabyte Poster

CentOS is a good choice but as mentioned before, maybe try Ubuntu (either install it or run it as a live cd to play with it) and see how you get on?

I personally like CentOS, Ubuntu, Damn Small Linux and Slax. Though in all honesty am not much of a Linux user to be fair...

Certifications: A+, MCP 70-270, 70-290, 70-291