What does a potential IT Recruiter really think of ECDL on a CV

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by ickle97116084, Jun 27, 2011.

1. ickle97116084

ickle97116084 Bit Poster

Hi guys a little background first. I work in the scientific industry installing apps and troubleshooting software faults. I also configure and administer scientific software. My job title is 'Systems Analyst' however I dont really feel I do a 'Systems Analysts' role. I have a scientific degree (Honours), a project management certification and Network+. As I am being made redundant in 3 months I wanted to begin my transfer into a true IT role but as part of my redundancy package my work are giving me all the material towards learning and sitting the ECDL exams.

My question is will having ECDL on my CV this late in my career be looked at with humour i.e. is it condidered a joke in the industry or will it be seen as working toward something while transferring to a new job. I have tried to come up with an answer to the dreaded question why did I choose to sit this set of exams and I will reply with: 'Having proof that I can both use and relate to the the software my customers I will be supporting!'

I have no qualms that i wont get a network admins role or a server admins role at least for a few years (after gaining credible experience) so it puts me squarely in a system support or helpdesk support category. Most problems will revolve around users having issues with word or excel or simply software bugs. I am hoping that ECDL will look positive on my CV rather tthan negative, if anyone has any thoughts on this let me know.

Cheers,

Ickle.

Certifications: Bsc (Hons), Prince2 Foundation, Network+
  2. JonnyMX

JonnyMX Petabyte Poster

I suppose it depends on what level of job you're going for.
    If you're going for something high-level and you've got other more relevant qualifications, then don't bother with it.