What certifications would I need for an IT Technican role

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by Josh Foster, Dec 21, 2018.

1. Josh Foster

Josh Foster New Member

Hi I hope this is ok to post here, I want to become a it technician I have done courses in college level 2 and 3 in IT. I am after some advice on which would be the best certifications to go for I have basic knowledge of computers and have built my own computers.But with the vast amount of certifications to choose from, it is a bit overwhelming. any help much appreciated thanks in advance.

JK2447 likes this.
  2. JK2447
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

JK2447 Petabyte Poster Administrator Premium Member

Welcome to Certforums. Definitely look at CompTIAs A+ and N+ which will give you a solid foundation as a technician

Certifications: VCP4, 5, 6, 6.5, 6.7, 7, 8, VCAP DCV Design, VMConAWS Skill, Google Cloud Digital Leader, BSc (Hons), HND IT, HND Computing, ITIL-F, MBCS CITP, MCP (270,290,291,293,294,298,299,410,411,412) MCTS (401,620,624,652) MCSA:Security, MCSE: Security, Security+, CPTS, CCA (XenApp6.5), MCSA 2012, VSP, VTSP
    WIP: Google Cloud Certs
  3. drum_dude

drum_dude Gigabyte Poster

The truth of the matter is that it's all about experience. My advice to you is to concentrate on getting a job in IT. For me, back in 2000 I had no "certs" but knew my way around PCs. I was a drum tutor at a local private school but showed some interest in helping out on IT related issues when the headmaster mentioned such stuff to me. Within weeks, I was the school's IT Technician and I ordered a book on "Networking" because they had 30 PCs on a Workgroup network + ISDN gateway. So I had to learn things like DHCP, IP addressing etc. A year later and I got a job with a big corporate firm on their helpdesk and the rest is history.