What are best entry-level certs for initial internship/employment?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by sendalot, Mar 1, 2013.

1. sendalot

sendalot Nibble Poster

What are the best entry-level certs for initial internship/employment? (I'm a fresh college grad with 0 IT experience).

I so far have CCENT and Network+ and they don't seem to get me much interviews yet.

Is it A+ and/or MCTS 70-680 (Win 7)?

Help me and thanks ya'll.

Oh and if you ask what I want to do, I want just enter into anything. Whether it'd be tech support OR network associate, etc

Last edited: Mar 1, 2013
    Certifications: Many
  2. ade1982

ade1982 Megabyte Poster

A+ is probably the best one to get. If you are not getting interviews, one might consider looking again at your CV, possibly?

3. Lugosi

Lugosi Bit Poster

Hi
    I dont necessarily know what the best ones are, but when I wanted to get into IT I struggled to get any interviews or call backs. At the time I had A+ and was studying Network+, and had some Java and C++ OU development modules under my belt too.
    So I phoned all the job agencies that seemed to deal with IT stuff in Cardiff(where I live) and surrounding cities and asked them all the same question.
    With limited or no experience what qualification on my CV would give me the best chance of any work. On the basis even if I started on a helpdesk reading scripts out, its a foot in the door.
    After all the normal disclaimers, we cant guarantee this, and we cant guarantee that.. The consensus at the time was MCSE or MCSA(obviously this was server 2003 and XP time so now you could replace that with MCITP server or enterprise) would bring your cv up on most searches.
    They also said that if I had just a couple of MCPs and stated I was studying towards MCSE or MCSA that would also bring me up on searches, so it wasnt necessary that I had the whole lot.