Welcome to the Networking FAQ Page

Discussion in 'Networks' started by tripwire45, Nov 9, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster

Welcome to the CertForums Networking FAQ Page

What is the purpose of this forum?

This forum is designed to discuss any issues related to computer networking, including design, configuration, and troubleshooting.

I’m a complete beginner. Can you tell me briefly what's involved in computer networking?

Generally speaking, computer networking is the process of allowing more than one computer to communicate and share information and resources with another computer. This can include computers connected in a home or office environment on a local area network (LAN) or computers connected across great distances via the internet or other wide area network (WAN).

What sort of topics are appropriate for this forum?

Relevant topics include TCP/IP, DNS, WINS, DHCP, NetBIOS, the OSI model, routing, switching, and networking media such as cabling and wireless. Since computer networking technology is expanding on a daily basis and covers such a broad subject area, it isn’t possible to list all the topic areas here. If in doubt, you may post your network-related question or comment here. If it is deemed more appropriate for another forum, the Administrator will relocate it and inform you of this event.

Can I ask questions about networking hardware here?

Yes. Although CertForums has a separate Hardware & Upgrading forum, in most cases, it will be more appropriate to ask questions specific to networking hardware here. Such hardware can include Network Interface Cards (NICs), including PCI cards, USB NICs, and wireless NICs, modems, including fax modems, cable and xDSL modems, routers, switches, hubs, and patch panels. Again, the variety of networking hardware can seem endless so please don’t consider the above examples as all inclusive.

What if no one answers my question?