Website Feedback

Discussion in 'Web Development & Web Hosting' started by mistareno, Sep 5, 2006.

1. mistareno

mistareno New Member

www.renaultnet.org

G'day,

I a bit of a novice when it comes to the whole website thing and I am about to redo the site I do for my car club with a CSS.

It's the only site I've ever done although I have a habit of changing and refining things all the time so the website has evolved over the last 2 years into something that looks and functions ok, even if the code is a mess (in the usual FP style)

I am seeking advice on how the site can be improved upon so that the improvements can be incorporated into the new design.

Thanks,

Richard Vandermeer

www.renaultnet.org

2. Bluerinse
    Honorary Member

Bluerinse Exabyte Poster

It looks good to me Richard, except for the couple of pages under construction which always irritates me.

I am no expert, just a dabbler like your good self :biggrin

Anyone else got any proper developer advice?

Certifications: C&G Electronics - MCSA (W2K) MCSE (W2K)
  3. Casablanca

Casablanca Nibble Poster

Looks great well done!

Certifications: N+ MCP 210 215 216
    WIP: MCP 218
  4. afusco86

afusco86 Bit Poster

I didnt have much time to look at it.
    I'm not a designer, but sure I'm a busy user who knows what he wants...

Well I like the general look but here's a few things you might want to take care of:

- it's a 3 column liquid layout nd there's nothing easier to realize in CSS. In addition to be more powerful, you'll realize that it makes it easier to make changes the the whole website, as you could work only on a single CSS sheet for the design.

- i think you should seriously think about implementing usability&accessibility (use H tags for the headers etc. it's just too much to decribe in here). The site seems to work well in various browsers but this is becoming of a huge concern lately. I'm sure that very soon disbled people will be able to sue designers for this.