Problem Vmware & Clustering

Discussion in 'Virtual and Cloud Computing' started by Richard Shannon, Mar 6, 2010.

1. Richard Shannon

Richard Shannon Bit Poster

Hi all

Wonder if someone can help me, i'm currently studying the 70-293 Windows Server 2003 network planning course and am really wanting to test and setup clustering. Ive got vmware workstation 7 at home and previous version 6 that i upgraded from but looking online it seems a bit of a mission to setup all the configuration or its not possible......there seems to be lots of mixed messages about if it can be setup and with which version.....ive even scoured the vmware website but most of the info on there is asking questions about vmware in corporate environments

Now from what i can see vmware esx looks like a possibility for setting up clustering and just wondered if anyone had previously set it up on workstation 6/7 or maybe used esx as i really dont like to leaves stones unturned with my study and dont like using tutorials as my experience, if i could get this setup and working it would be a great weight of my shoulders as we all know what hands on does for us

If anyone has any help or info regarding this it would be a massive help
    Thanks
    Richard

Certifications: A+ MCP MCDST MCSA MCSA:MESSAGING
    WIP: 70-293
  2. Phoenix
    Honorary Member

Phoenix 53656e696f7220 4d6f64

you basically need three VMs
    Two Win servers
    1 iSCSI Target server

get the networking right, and you can do clustering
    I had Exchange 2003 clusters running in VMware Workstation 3 or 4 back in 03

generally i would do it this way

Win servers, 3 Nics, one direct, two host only on seperate networks, one for iSCSI one for heartbeat
    iSCSI Target, 2 nics, one direct (management) one host only (for iSCSI)

iSCSI targets are operating systems such as OpenFiler, FreeNas, or Windows boxes running iSCSI Target software like Softwinds, Datacore, etc etc

Certifications: MCSE, MCITP, VCP
    WIP: > 0
  3. Phoenix