Utterly confused

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by mazzy2u, Mar 11, 2011.

1. mazzy2u

mazzy2u New Member

OK, I have read some of the posts in this forum regarding training. The general consensus is that most training providers that offer fast track courses are basically blowing smoke up the rear pipe. Also, like most things, getting a cert is a long process. But here's where its a bit different for me. I have experience with help desks albeit not in IT, I have a lot of IT experience but nothing on paper, so would a fast track route could be a good choice or, as it has been suggested by a lot of people on here, self study?

I have a bit of an issue with self study, I did a distance learning C language course with Computeach years ago, and I found it difficult to juggle work, life and the studying. I had 2 years basically to pass but the 2 years just flew by and I eventually ran out of time and they wanted more money to add another 6 months on. Which I decided it wasn't worth it as I was struggling with some of the finer points of C (bloody semi-colons!!!). So many years down the line here I am. I have money, my work will allow me some time off if necessary to do a course and as I am fed up with my job, I have the motivation.

Any guidance would be appreciated.

2. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

The offerings vary widely but the general concensus is you don't get something for nothing, you need to put the time and effort in to pass the exams, someone else can't really do that for you.

Computeach are a training provider and you already mention how they let you down. Many TP's who offer package deals operate in a simliar fashion, yes some do offer workshops and tutorials but these can be pretty minimal for the amount of material you are expected to learn.

However C isn't the hardest language to learn, certainly quite doable in under a year part time, so sounds like you didn't put the work in.