Upcoming interview, unsure about job though

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Andy L, Mar 12, 2009.

1. Andy L

Andy L Bit Poster

Earlier this week, I was told by an agency that I have an interview at a company for a IT Technician role. I'm currently working in a school at the moment and largely due to its lack of money, I was made the network manager after working there 6 months part-time (and this was my first IT support job too)! While I've been here, I've picked up so much valuable experience and I'm still learning lots although at times, I do feel like I would benefit greatly from having somebody with more experience around to learn from. Being in a school environment can also be very rewarding too but I can't work for too much longer on this kind of money.

This job I've got an interview for is paying £15k, which seems very low for a second job? It's still an improvement on what I'm on now though, which should also give you some indication as to how poor my pay is in my current job. Its description is:

There's nothing in that which suggests that I could put the year's experience I now have to good use - would you guys agree or disagree? To me, it sounds more like a first job than a second one and part of me thinks I could be aiming higher. However, I've already applied for lots of jobs recently with no success - could this have something to do with what the agent told me? 'Stepping out from a school setting into a commercial environment can often be difficult due to the very different perception of the roles. This organisation would provide that transactional step' - would anyone who's made a similar leap (or otherwise) agree or call this out as agency BS?

Thanks for any advice you guys can offer :)

2. Crito

Crito Banned

It's only an improvement if it's as stable as a job in academia. And ask yourself how the agency makes money? Getting the highest salary for you or getting the cheapest labor for the employer?

Certifications: A few