Problem trouble getting latest version of oracle virtualbox to work on win10 & virtual machine comm probs

Discussion in 'Virtual and Cloud Computing' started by PC Busdriver, Aug 2, 2016.

?

whats the better Virtualisierung machine?

1. Hyper V

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Virtualbox

66.7%
  3. Other

33.3%
  1. PC Busdriver

PC Busdriver Bit Poster

Hi,
    I am currently studying 70-680 config of win7, the training kit suggests using a virtual machine for the exercises.
    So i have installed a while ago Oracle virtualbox and installed 2 virtual machines, both running win7 ultimate x64, 1 as tech pc and the other to act as a client pc, i also installed a virtual windows server 2008 r12, to compenstate for the domain roll parts of the course.

so my problem arises:- Was running on host machine windows win 7 ultimate x64 and the latest virtualbox, until i used the free upgrade from Windows 10 pro. Now i cant use the latest version of virtualbox and i have to use the version 4.3.38 instead of 5.1.2. As anyone else had this problem and managed to get around this issue, all the forums i search dont seem to have workable solutions.

Also my other problem is, i cannot get my virtual machines to communicate with each other or the host machine, i either get an internet connection or no connection, i cant apply winpe exercise to the client virtual machine or share anything with the server. trying to become a domain member wont work.

Is there a solution to using 2 virtual machines to communicate with the host or utilise the host in a server role?

i would use hyper V, i have tried it and dont seem to get my head round it, my opinion it does not have a user friendly interface. maybe someone can offer advise how i can utilise the v machine better or share some tips and tricks

Certifications: ECDL, BCS Level2 NVQ IT Users, CompTIA A+
    WIP: MCTS 70-680 Configuring Windows 7
  2. garycul

garycul Nibble Poster