Training for career in IT

Discussion in 'A+' started by Come_On_You_Irons, Jul 2, 2006.

1. Come_On_You_Irons

Come_On_You_Irons Bit Poster

Hi all, this is my first post in here. I am looking to get into IT, I have a BTEC National Diploma in computer studies which I gained some years ago. I am currently off work with a ruptured achilles, and been reading Mike Meyers A+ All in one, and studying the Mike Meyers A+ Disks.

I am now considering taking on the Training camps accelerated learning A+/Network+ 7 day course to get certificate quicker before I have to go back to work. Can anyone give me advice on whether they feel this would be a good idea to get me into IT or would another course or certificate be more beneficial?

Certifications: A+, Network+, CCNA
    WIP: CCNP
  2. zimbo
    Honorary Member

zimbo Petabyte Poster

First of all Hi - welcome to CF! 8)

Second please dont double most - just posting once we will all see it dont worry.

I agree with you doing the A+, it is a good foundation for anything else you want to study in IT. What i dont agree with is how you doing it. 7 days is not possible to learn everything in the A+ sylabus and i hope they dont provide you with some *other* third party *notes* to get through. There is also no way you will get into IT in 7 days.. 7 months maybe... but reading a book for a few days and doing an exam doesnt mean anything to someone looking to hire you. You need to show him you practically know what an A+ tech does.

Certifications: B.Sc, MCDST & MCSA
    WIP: M.Sc - Computer Forensics
  3. Come_On_You_Irons

Thanks Zimbo, for replying. Sorry for posting so many times but my head is all mixed up, and I wanted some advice. Again sorry.

What would you advice me to do then?

I just want the best certificates I can get at the moment!!

4. zimbo
    Honorary Member

zimbo Petabyte Poster