Training Advice

Discussion in 'A+' started by RoastDuck, Apr 5, 2004.

1. RoastDuck

RoastDuck New Member

Hello all, only discovered this site this morning - already gleaned a lot of useful advice looking through the threads - great site for practical advice.

If anyone could offer their opinion/advice concerning training toward the A+ exam I would be most grateful.

My background: Operations manager for a packaging merchant. Part of my duties include the upkeep of 5 PCs. Over the years I have carried out many upgrades and solved many problems but never taken any formal training - all self-taught.

Well, my employer recently offered to pay for formal A+ training with a view to me taking on more responibility within our group of four companies. Great! I thought. However, my local college cannot offer me a place on their A+ night-course until September (too long to wait). I have read the reviews of the Meyers book and wondered if anyone felt that by immersing myself in this book alone I would be competent enough to sit the exams? Are there any other resources I should invest in or is Meyers book really all I need? Having done a quick recce of on-line training it is amazing that some organisations offer courses for 50 quid whilst others want £300.00+. Any views on which direction I should take? Any courses out their that you would recommend/avoid?

TIA

2. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster

Welcome, RoastDuck! Glad you found Certforums. It sounds like you have a good foundation on PC maintenence and repair already. Since I'm in the U.S. (don't worry...the vast majority of folks here are more in your neighborhood) I can't offer any suggestions on where to receive training in your area.