trainee geek needs help studying for A+

Discussion in 'A+' started by leeroy2612, Apr 11, 2007.

1. leeroy2612

leeroy2612 Byte Poster

alreet guys, hope you can help:eek: :eek:

i started studying for my A+/ m.c.s.e, in Nov last year with @dvent. up until that point i was a builder and to cut a boring story short, i currently have around ONE!! years experience with computers. i desperatly need any help anybody wants to sling my way, i have read mike mayers all in one guide,passport and the 500 pages of latin that @dvent gave me. I still dont really feel ready to take the exam because i dont have any practical experience, is it possable to pass the A+, based purely on theoretical knowedge and if so i would be extemely grateful for any advice,hint,tips,links to useful sites. Also if any of you that have passed the A+ could let me no what to expect.

Certifications: ecdl 1,2
    WIP: A+, mcse
  2. kat731
    Honorary Member

kat731 Megabyte Poster

Hi and welcome,

just read you're CV, try not to be negative with "unfortunately/i dont have" etc. Try to build on you're positive qualities. Apply for voluntary IT positions, offer you're services. Buy cheap bits, strip them rebuild them, hopefully you'll get problems which is good, then you can learn from that.

Kat

Certifications: BA (Hons), A+
    WIP: 70-685 77-884
  3. Kraven

Kraven Kilobyte Poster

I believe yes you can pass an exam without practical knowledge. But when your actually in a job and you need to put that theory to practical use, you may find it strange and may struggle a little especially without the experience of doing the task.