Time To Move on...

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Toadeh, Dec 12, 2007.

1. Toadeh

Toadeh Nibble Poster

Hi All,

I have been working as a developer for 18 months now and in Nov, the new IT director pulled all development in favour of buying a system, then anounced that he was getting some project managers in and basically, made it clear that neither me nor my coleagues can move into these roles.

He has also commented on a few occasions that i get pushed out of the development team (mainly because they are older, I joined as a junior and am now upto their level) and now he has started doing it with closed door meetings about things which I am working on.

last straw came today when I have been reviewing the entire system and deciding what information to warehouse for reports and business inteligence, the dirctor then wants to take one of the others to analyse the new systems and see if they match the business requirement, even though I have done all the leg work (don't blame the guy who's going, he is good at his job, just don't like doing all the work for someone else to get all the credit).

Short of it is, I need to get out and find something with a career. I am a graduate and have an MCTS, how did you guys take the next step and move on, was it by trwaling job sites etc? also, did you find it difficult to keep motivated at your current work once you made the decision to go?

Am pritty pissed off here now so its defo time to go.

Any advice is appreciated

Cheers

mat

Certifications: BSc(Hons), MCTS Web Development
  2. onoski

onoski Terabyte Poster

Sorry to hear your current job case, but don't let it get to you too much as it does happen in the job market. I'd say tidy up your CV and start hitting www.monster.co.uk. www.jobserve.co.uk and my favourite www.jobsite.co.uk.