This might not be the job for me after all...

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by MasterDelgado, Oct 9, 2017.

1. MasterDelgado

MasterDelgado Nibble Poster

After seven months of working in my first desktop support job, I feel terrible.

I got into this line of work due to video games and system building being my "hobby" and due to the fact that my prior education and career experience didn't mean anything here in Canada and has led to half a decade wasted in minimum wage retail jobs*. Before, I spent about 10 years working in financial media in London, getting to eat out at swanky restaurants on other people's expense accounts now and then.

I work in the social care sector with 500 users covered by me and the sysadmin. I'm supposed to do tier 1 and (some) tier 2 stuff but it doesn't really work out that way. On average we get 4/5 tickets per day but the only SLA is replying within 24 hours. Many of our staff work part-time or casual shifts, so tickets remain open for days or weeks (!) at a time. I don't think of my job as solving problems, merely indulging in "technology theatre" - looking as though I'm fixing problems when I am constrained by budgets, manpower and users' technical ability.

I might be lucky as I only get user entitlement issues very rarely as my end-users are social workers and care workers. The user base is a mix of foreign and domestic social workers with varying levels of technological ability. Management is made up of late-middle age people who simply don't get technology and won't add more IT staff (despite being asked numerous times) to work on preventing the fires we put out from happening in the first place.

Despite all this, my sysadmin is very supportive of my interest in networking and has given me old equipment to play around with at home, with the opportunity of paying for any certs that I want. He's also trusting me to start deploying wireless equipment on sites in production.