Think I'm going back to University

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Mecha, Jun 30, 2009.

1. Mecha

Mecha Bit Poster

I've been pndering the decision over the past 2 or so weeks about going back to uni, and I've decided I think it's going to be good for me..

I graduated last year from a Computer Networking degree, and got a job as an IT administrator in London. Whilst I do enjoy the job a lot I just don't know if I am happy in the future route. I know the degree route is hard but I think it's worth it for the degree I want.

It is a MSc in Information Security at the Royal Holloway University which is very good for the MSc and has a lot of speakers, etc who help out at the university. It's a very good course but I am unsure if I can do it part time right now. I work in South London and live in Bedfordshire and the travelling is gruelling as it is, so doing 1 day a week at uni will finish me off.

Anyways, I know degrees here are not in everyone's high list, but I REALLY have the urge to do this and get my masters, and possibly gain an analyst job in network security, or general information security. Has anyone else taken this route, or is anyone right now in a security job? I know the benefits of working from scratch, but I have seen a large increase in governmental jobs looking for penetration testers, network intrusion technicians, etc

Anyways, it's exciting! and expensive (£4k) :(

Certifications: BSc Networking, A+ (601)
    WIP: MSc InfoSec, S+, CISMP, IA ISO27001
  2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

I'd recommend doing it... but not at the expense of getting full-time real-world experience. Few companies are gonna hire a degreed "network security guy" who has neither secured nor administered networks.