Think I need to move.....

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by zxspectrum, Jan 6, 2019.

1. zxspectrum

zxspectrum Terabyte Poster Forum Leader Gold Member

So from where I was last year, I am progressing, which is what I aim for, if I feel I have progressed, then things cant be too bad. What I was doing last year was basically runnning a computing department, tech wise. However in that job I knew I was hitting a glasss ceiling, my boss would only fund my masters degree but anything that I proposed to help me in what I thought I needed etc, like some cisco training , he wouldnt do that. Also I was never appreciated by him, he was an ok bloke one to one but for man management, he needed more training.

So now, I am a systems officer and although the team I work with are great, I dont feel like I belong there, I feel I need to be doing more on computers, like sccm, AD and the like than the role I am doing now. Some of the jobs I have to do feel rather tedious and sometimes challenging, like SQL for instance, I cant get my head around that in the slightest and what makes it worse is that I have no enthusiasm for it, however, it is down as one of my projects, so it will be interesting to see how far that goes or last.

I took this job as a way to move from what I actually enjoyed doing, I wanted to be the senior technician, which is a grade below what I am now but was a grade above what I was back then, however, no matter how many times I proved my worth, I was talking to a brick wall.

Either way, I think I am going to look to see what comes up where I am, hopefully something in June/July would be nice. In the meantime I will just try and add to the MTA network fundamentals and MTA security exams that I have now, I know they are entry level, but I think I can build on them

Zx

Certifications: BSc computing and information systems
    WIP: 70-680
  2. nisseki

nisseki Byte Poster

Good luck!