There's always something I've never dealt with...

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by GeeJay, Feb 11, 2010.

1. GeeJay

GeeJay Bit Poster

Hi guys,

Quite recently, I have been looking around at, and applying for jobs on various websites, through agencies and direct with employers themselves.

The thing is, where I work for a small company and am applying for roles in bigger companies, there are an awful lot of technologies that I haven't been in contact with. This becomes particularly apparent when coming to apply and I'm not sure what to do about them.

Lets say for example, I'm applying for a job spec below:
    So I'd go through and tick/cross what I can or can't do. In this example, I can't really say Sharepoint is a weakness..I have absolutely no experience...I haven't even brushed past it in my learning. so how do I go about it? What I'd normally say in the covering letter is that I have no experience in Sharepoint, however I'm willing to learn. I'd rather be honest from the offset that either lie, or hope it gets ignored until I start the job and have to ask.

How would you go about a weakness like the above? In some examples, I'd have 80% of the skills they're after, but not a few "essentials" so I won't even bother applying for the position, in fear of wasting my time, and theirs.

Certifications: MCSA 2003, 70-294
    WIP: 70-298
  2. LukeP

LukeP Gigabyte Poster

In my opinion apply for all the jobs you think you're suitable for. Leave it down to employer to decide how important to them are skills you don't have. You can have something else that is desirable and as everything else skills you're missing can be learnt.
    You won't get it if you won't apply, that's for sure. On the other hand if hiring person decides to invite you for the interview anyway, it's a best time to tell him you've always wanted to work with such and such technology and it's one of the reasons you've applied for this position.