The next step??

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by becks4eva, Sep 15, 2009.

?

What would you do?

Poll closed Oct 5, 2009.
  1. Complete MCDST and begin career in IT?

33.3%
  2. Stay put and be assistant manager?

66.7%
  1. becks4eva

becks4eva Bit Poster

Ive found myself in a dilemma...I will soon begin studying for my MCDST which i hope to complete by January next year and get into the IT industry as soon as i can find an entry level job. At the moment i work in the hopitality industry at a well known gastro pub who has offered me a trainee managerial job. The job has its pro's and con's like any job but if i was to take the position i will not be able to do my MCDST and break into the IT industry as i had previously planned. What would you do? Should i rather focus on getting qualified and breaking into the IT industry or sit tight and put my career plans on hold for a while, especially considering the advantage i am at now with having a steady progressive job?
    Any extra thoughts would be welcome in helping me reach a decision....
    Many thanks

Certifications: Comptia A+, MCDST
  2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

What's wrong with accepting the trainee management job and continue to study for the MCDST, A+ & Network+ in your spare time? Alot of us study thru work as well as in the evenings/weekends for other qualifications.

Think of it logically, what are the chances that you'll get your first IT position straight away? You can always quit your job when you do get your foot in the door of IT.

-Ken

Last edited: Sep 15, 2009
    Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  3. Arroryn

Arroryn we're all dooooooomed Moderator

I can't select both, but I agree completely with what Ken has advised.