Terminal Server Nightmare!!

Discussion in 'Windows Server 2003 / 2008 / 2012 / 2016' started by hayden101, Mar 16, 2012.

1. hayden101

hayden101 Bit Poster

Evening guys and gals!!!

I’m studying for the 70-290 exam and I have a question I’d like to pick your teccy minds about. But I don’t want you to tell me the answer.

Problem:
    I have Terminal Server installed on a member server and I am using a domain user account to attempt to connect to TS on the member server...problem is I keep receiving:

"To log on to this remote computer, you must have Terminal Server User Access Permissions on this computer. By default, members of the Remote Desktop group have these permissions. If you are not a member of the Remote Desktop Users group or another group that has these permissions, or if the Remote Desktop User group does not have these permissions, you must be granted these permissions manually."

Lab set up as follows:
    1 X Domain Controller (Server01)
    1 X Member Server (Server02)
    1 X XP Client (XP)
    I have installed Terminal Server on the member server.

The domain user account I am using to log on through TS is a member of:
    • Domain “Remote Desktop User Group”
    • Member Servers local “Remote Desktop User Group”

I have edited the domain GP “User Rights Assignment”, “Allow log on through Terminal Services” as shown:

THE PICTURE WILL NOT UPLOAD GRRRRRR

I also have a Domain admin user account that also receives the same error.

I have spent a good 10 hours this week trying to resolve this issue in different ways by creating different groups and adding user accounts to them etc all to no avail. I am starting to get a bit wound up by it. I would like to know if I have missed a key step in setting this up or if there is some bug that needs an update. Also I have not download any updates from MS as this lab is a clean setup with no internet access and i don’t want to do any updates yet.

Have i missed anything?

Last edited: Mar 16, 2012