SUSE Internet Connection Problems

Discussion in 'Linux / Unix Discussion' started by michael78, Aug 1, 2005.

1. michael78

michael78 Terabyte Poster

Hi all, the pest is back. I'm trying out SUSE 9.3 and have to say it's the best distro of Linux I've seen. Now for my problem I still can't get onto the internet and have been messing around with settings for days now.

I'll explain my setup I have a Origo ADSL modem/Router/Switch and a Linksys wireless router, switch which my laptop gets it's wireless from and works fine. My main PC is also connected to the Linksys router and also works fine. Both have static address configured through the router and are running XP. Then I have another PC also connected to the router running SUSE 9.3 but it doesn't see DHCP nor work when I put in a static IP. When booting up it says it can't give out a DHCP address and I've checked the NIC card and it says it's configured. It's also not the cable as I've checked it. I'm totally new to Linux am I missing something as I'm tearing my hair out.

Any help is much appreciated...:D

Certifications: A+ | Network+ | Security+ | MCP | MCDST | MCTS: Hyper-V | MCTS: AD | MCTS: Exchange 2007 | MCTS: Windows 7 | MCSA: 2003 | ITIL Foundation v3 | CCA: Xenapp 5.0 | MCITP: Enterprise Desktop Administrator on Windows 7 | MCITP: Enterprise Desktop Support Technician on Windows 7
    WIP: Online SAN Overview, VCP in December 2011
  2. ffreeloader

ffreeloader Terabyte Poster

I'm no SuSe guy, but post the output of "ifconfig -a". You'll have to su to root to run it from a bash shell, at least I have to Debian.

Also, try the command "lspci -v" from a bash shell. It will tell you what pci hardware the computer is recognizing. I'm not sure if that will work in SuSe or not. If not there is another way around it but if lspci works it's a lot less effort as I'm not sure of how SuSe has it's /proc heirarchy set up.

Certifications: MCSE, MCDBA, CCNA, A+
    WIP: LPIC 1
  3. michael78