Subnetting Vs Different Network Ranges

Discussion in 'Networks' started by Twonk, Oct 15, 2008.

1. Twonk

Twonk New Member

Hi all,

Noob here so please go easy :oops:

I'm planning on taking my CCNA next year, I do bits and bobs of networking in my current job but find it quite interesting and would like to pursue it further and as a starting point to that, have taught myself subnetting.

After much practice I now understand it inside out and back to front but it raised a couple of questions for me that I wondered if you could help me with.

The first I think I may already know the answer to, but essentially it's this - With subnetting, obviously you are cutting down on broadcasts, you are using your router(s) to segment unnessecary (sp) trafffic to it's own intended network which is fine, but what is the advantage in subnetting rather than just using a different network range anyway, seeing as both methods require the packet to be routed anyway.

A rough example, say I had a bog standard class c network of 192.168.x.x with a subnet mask of 255.255.240.0 so my first useable address on my first subnet subnet is 192.168.0.1 up to 192.168.15.254 (assuming subnet 0 is allowed) and my next subnet would be 192.168.16.1 up to 192.168.31.254

What is the advantage in doing the above over say, just creating two network ranges - 192.168.1.x and 192.168.2.x and setting up a static route between them?

However, as I mentioned earlier, I think I may already know at least some of the answer to this question, and I'm assuming it's scalability, i.e. with two different network ranges, at least class c ones, you are limited to 254 hosts on each network

Would appreciate some network guru's thoughts on this!!

My second question is a bit quicker, I was at a customers the other day, and noticed that one of their sites was using an internal IP Range of 192.0.x.x.