Study Method

Discussion in 'Windows 7 / 8 /10 Client Exams' started by daft_togger, Nov 3, 2008.

1. daft_togger

daft_togger Nibble Poster

I've recently studied and passed my first MCP (70-290). I graduated in 1999 and not studied anything of significance since.

I found that I seemed to take too long grasping subjects for this exam and I suspect it was due to my study method, so just wondered how others study and what works for them.

I tend to re-write practically the whole book which makes getting though a chunky book time consuming. Guys at work say they just read the book though and then do practice questions.

Now working towards Vista exam 70-620 before I take on the harder 70-291 & 293 exams.

Any advice is appreciated.

Certifications: 70-290, 70-620
    WIP: 70-291
  2. Qs

Qs Semi-Honorary Member Gold Member

I refer you to a similar thread which may be of use to you, found using the similar threads link at the bottom of this page :p

http://www.certforums.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?t=18581

There is a wealth of information in the forum, you just need to search for it. *hint hint, search function* :p

From personal experience I also tend to write out a lot of what I read which is very time consuming. It works, but as I said... it's all about the time it takes.

My new method purely relies on reading thoroughly and not making any detailed notes. If I can't do the practice questions at the end of the chapter then I re-read until I can (and feel confident about what I have read).

Each to their own though - it's entirely dependant upon how you absorb information best. Try a few of the methods mentioned in the above link, they may help.

:)

Qs

Certifications: MCT, MCSE: Private Cloud, MCSA (2008), MCITP: EA, MCITP: SA, MCSE: 2003, MCSA: 2003, MCITP: EDA7, MCITP: EDST7, MCITP: EST Vista, MCTS: Exh 2010, MCTS:ServerVirt, MCTS: SCCM07 & SCCM2012, MCTS: SCOM07, MCTS: Win7Conf, MCTS: VistaConf, MCDST, MCP, MBCS, HND: Applied IT, ITIL v3: Foundation, CCA