Starting out with no background in IT

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Smoop, Mar 18, 2015.

1. Smoop

Smoop New Member

Hi all,

I have just found this forum after being offered an interview with a company called Netcom. I was researching the company and found out on here that they post fake job listings in an attempt to convince people to sign up for training - so firstly I'd like to say thanks for the warning! I won't be going to the interview.

I thought I would ask about possibly starting out in IT in general. I have no professional experience in IT at all, no certifications, and my degree is in English Literature - probably not the best combination. I have a passion for IT (I built my own computer, often research topics that interest me in the area, provide tech support to family and friends etc.), but am I being naive in thinking I can break into IT with absolutely no professional/training background?

I would ideally like to get a helpdesk (or something similar) position where I could work my way up from the bottom and learn the industry. Would it be foolish to apply to such positions without certifications etc. first? I have seen that the CompTIA A+ certification is recommended to people starting out in IT - would it be best to pursue this first? Or am I completely on the wrong track? As you can probably tell I don't really know what I'm doing right now, but I'm very eager to learn.

Thanks for any help.

2. Juelz

Juelz Gigabyte Poster