Someone Needing A Little Advice =\?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Special Brew, Nov 22, 2010.

1. Special Brew

Special Brew Nibble Poster

Hey,
    My name is Chris, I'm 19 and live in Southampton. I've never really known what type of career i would be suited for, until i realised IT is and always has been natural for me.
    I enjoy it very much ( even the times when it's complicated, and many hours long ) Because with each moment inside a computer, reading or troubleshooting I always learn something knew.
    Unlike everything esle, I take everything in with alot of interest, so i never actually forget.

I am currently studying BSc ICT (hons) degree with the OU part time, I have no Work experience with computers at all. Though i often fix peoples computers, but that will make no difference.

I don't have any Certs at the moment, due to having no money to pay for the exams (job seekers don't get much)
    I don't really know at the moment what i would like to do within IT, don't know what i'm capable off (being on JSA for a while gets you depressed and feel like **** to be honest but i need to get some confidence back)
    I feel time is running out and need to start somewhere asap.

The jobs i see advertising always ask for experience with the job, software of call logging etc.. So these i end up not applying for ( fear of being turned down )

I really don't mind doing voluntary work to get some experience but i don't know where to apply?
    What jobs? What companies are small but with a IT helpdesk?

I really am passionate about this, and have been for a long, long time... Just took until this year to realise it.

I appreciate any comments, good or bad, Please throw in some advice along side it though.

Special Brew!

2. Theprof

Theprof Petabyte Poster