Skillstrain my Experience

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by lubo, Jun 25, 2007.

1. lubo

lubo New Member

Hi everyone. I thought I should register and share my views on the much talked about Skillstrain on this website. I signed up for Skillstrain CIW Website Manager course around 4 weeks ago which was going to cost £1500. I was really geared up to do this and thought I would check out some of their feedback (should have done so before signing anything) and stumbled across this website with various threads on how bad this company actually were. I then had a look at the folder that the rep left me which was extremely out of date. I decided to cancel having now lost the momemntum to continue with this. I then discovered that my local University (University of Paisley http://ciw.paisley.ac.uk/index.asp) were offering the same courses online. I start the Foundations course next week. Each part of the course costs £199 including exam and as I am new to the University I am entitled to a discount on my first course which will only cost £49. The next course shouldnt cost me anything as these are ILA Funded (www.ilascotland.com) and you can receive £200 a year. If you are lucky enough to earn over £18,000 you can receive £100 off any of these courses. I think this is only available in Scotland.

The University are the first CIW Authorised Academic Partner outside the United States.

As this course is online I think that anyone from UK could probably do this. Not too sure about where you would sit exams though.

So instead of paying £1500 it will now cost £450 with my discounts and have the peace of mind that with a University you cant go wrong.

Maybe Skillstrain is the way to go if they can actually get you a job at the end of it then an extra £1000 is worth it. The rep told me not all students get jobs through them around 70% do but their reputation told me that I would probably be in the unlucky 30%.