Self Employment - Mobile PC Technician - opinions sought

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by ianhopwood, Feb 6, 2008.

1. ianhopwood

ianhopwood New Member

Hi all

im currently studying for the A+ certifications, and have considered setting up offering mobile pc repairs upgrading OS reinstallation etc on site at customers homes.

Just thought id seek opinions on the likely viability of such a venture from the more experienced members - not not seeking to be a millionaire, just make a reasonable living

cheers

ian

2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

Its viable but you probably wont make that much money unless you can corner the market in your area.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster

Check your competition. Chances are there's already at least one outfit in your area that offers such a service. Also, it's tough to survive if that's the only service you offer. Now that PCs are relatively inexpensive, more people elect to buy a new PC every so often rather than maintain the one they have. I remember reading about a business in my local community that expanded from PC repair to other non-IT goods and services just to survive.

You might be better off going to work for someone who current does that kind of work where you live. Get the experience without the headache of running a business.

Certifications: A+ and Network+
  4. nXPLOSi

nXPLOSi Terabyte Poster

There really are hundreds of companies doing the same thing right now.

Problem is, the majority of people know someone, like me for instance, that will help them out when they have a problem, with no charge etc.. I think you'll have a real hard time getting anywhere with it to be honest.

Certifications: A+, Network+, Security+, MCSA 2003 (270, 290, 291), MCTS (640, 642), MCSA 2008
    WIP: MCSA 2012
  5. Modey

Modey Terabyte Poster