Reverse DNS

Discussion in 'Networks' started by Leehaa, Dec 18, 2007.

1. Leehaa

Leehaa Gigabyte Poster

What would be the effect of switching off reverse DNS on a small office network with one 2003 server hosting Domino and using lotus notes as mail server?

Please advise. Feel free to ask questions if you need more to answer this one!!

Certifications: MCP, MCDST, ITIL v3, MBCS, others...
    WIP: BSc IT & Computing, RHCE
  2. Tinus1959

Tinus1959 Gigabyte Poster

Reverse DNS is only used the get the name if you feed it the IP address. I do not think it would have any effect to Lotus Notes, but I'm no Notes expert.

Certifications: See my signature
    WIP: MCSD, MCAD, CCNA, CCNP
  3. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

Some settings on things like SSH require reverse DNS for anti-spoofing, and some mail servers also need it or they will reject incoming emails.

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  4. ffreeloader

ffreeloader Terabyte Poster

Probably slight, but not knowing what all applications are used there it's hard to know.

It's easy enough to turn off and then back on again so it shouldn't hurt too much to try it sometime when most people aren't around. If you know what all applications are used on your network, and how each of them are used, it should be a piece of cake to test, and then if something breaks, to restore the functionality.

Certifications: MCSE, MCDBA, CCNA, A+
    WIP: LPIC 1
  5. ffreeloader

Only if your email servers are set up to use internal dns servers. They can be pointed elsewhere for DNS services if they aren't dependent on something like AD.

I wasn't aware of the SSH dependency on reverse DNS though.

6. Leehaa

Leehaa Gigabyte Poster