Read or watch video tutorials first?

Discussion in 'A+' started by Martay, Jan 27, 2015.

1. Martay

Martay Bit Poster

I just acquired the Mike Meyers A+ book for 801/802 and discovered Professor Messer's site. I was wondering which would be best, reading the book first or watching the online videos?

I had thought of doing both at once, whereby I read a section of the book and then watch the corresponding video, but both mediums don't follow in the same order.

I might as well ask while here, but I work in retail/hospitality, I'm almost 29, and was wondering is it worth pursuing a career in IT? I have no qualifications or degree, hence going for certifications. I'm asking more to see if a CV-reader/interviewer won't laugh in my face.

2. Stuzzle

Stuzzle Byte Poster

Don't be worried about the age issue and lack of existing qualifications - this forum has many examples of people much older than you starting. Focus on how much you want to change your circumstances and how much work and time you are willing to put in. You may have to accept the fact that you will be facing rejection for a while before you get your first break job wise, but as many here before have experienced, if you just keep on smiling and keep on pushing you'll get there eventually :)

Certifications: A+, MCSA: Windows 7, 70-640, 70-642
    WIP: 70-646
  3. Martay

Martay Bit Poster

Thanks Stuzzle. It's reassuring knowing I'm not over the hill. I wish I'd done all this at 18, but dwelling on the past is folly, I guess.

I work full time and have a girlfriend (no kids yet, thankfully), so I have an okay amount of time to self-study. Yeah, I accept it could take some time, I just hope that after I get a couple of certs, I'm not waiting years for a foot in the door. I guess a lot of it is luck and striking gold with one of your earlier interviews.

I'm definitely committed fully to this, even willing to relocate if the Gloucestershire area doesn't prove conducive to a career in IT.