Rant about MSI UK Support

Discussion in 'The Lounge - Off Topic' started by SimonD, Dec 7, 2012.

1. SimonD
    Honorary Member

SimonD Terabyte Poster

Sorry chaps but I wanted to get this off my chest.

In September I took the plunge and purchased a new MSI GT60 0ND laptop from a supplier here in the UK, the reason for getting this beast of a laptop was it's ability to use 32GB of ram (something I would use as I am a virtualisation engineer \ blogger and could use it on the road without limiting my lab environment). The day after I got the laptop I took it overseas with me on a business trip, during the business trip I noticed that I had an issue with the space bar not working 100% of the time, I didn't take too much notice of it and instead just read what I was typing to ensure that I had all the spaces on my documents where I needed them.

Move forward a month and I discovered that actually it's not an uncommon trait for this particular laptop and the advice was to get it RMA'd for either a replacement laptop or keyboard, the RMA process was relatively simple and handled by MSI directly rather than the supplier I purchased the laptop from, unfortunately it subsequently turned out that MSI outsource their RMA process to a 3rd party company who carry out all of the repair work on MSI's behalf, now usually that's not an issue but in this case it has been.