Raid Controller Beeping - Failed Drive

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by AuRoR, Apr 13, 2010.

1. AuRoR

AuRoR Bit Poster

Hi all,

I've just purchased an old Xeon 2.8 Dual core dual processor server with a megaraid controller and 4 SCSI disks. There are a couple problems on it that I don't know how to fix:

1.The raid controller is beeping and one of the bays is flashing orange / green. I've never used Raid before so not sure if this is a failed drive or not. It is setup in RAID 5 I think, shall I remove the offending drive and setup in another array? Maybe Raid 1? I would give you some more info with error messages but I have chose the 'rebuild' option and now I have to wait.

2. Just after post I get error messages about both processors, one seems to have failed and one is having problems. When booted into Server 2008 it only shows 1 processor in device manager and 2 graphs in task manager (dual core cpus). I take it this means one of the processors died. Shall I try and reseat it?

Any help is appreciated, I would like to know if it's worth buying new parts for this or whether I should do some more troubleshooting. Thanks

edit: I cancelled the rebuild and made the drive 'online' and the beeping has stopped but I'm pretty sure the drive is failing.

Processor messages:

8140: Processor 01: failed FRB level 3 timer
    8141:Processor 02: failed FRB level 3 timer
    8131: Processor 02: Disabled
    84FF: System Event Log Full

Can anyone tell me what these messages mean? Thanks

Last edited: Apr 13, 2010
    Certifications: GNVQ ICT, Nat Diploma IT Practitioners
    WIP: Head above water
  2. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator

You would be best to reseat the drive and then rebuild. Leave in running overnight.

Certifications: MSc MCSE MCSA:M MCSA:S MCITP:EA MCTS(x5) MS-900 AZ-900 Security+ Network+ A+
    WIP: Microsoft Certs
  3. SimonD
    Honorary Member

SimonD Terabyte Poster