Questions about MCPD: EAD 3.5

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Lohengrin, Jul 7, 2009.

1. Lohengrin

Lohengrin Bit Poster

I'm interested in taking the "MCDP: Enterprise Application Developer 3.5", I'll start with the courses (since I suck at self-study ) and then the exams later on, but I have some questions so I hope you can help me.

I'm a junior developer, I mainly use VB.NET and SQL Server 2005 but I also know my way around C# -to some extent-. So far I only code windows applications, so I have no experience in web development.

My questions are:

1) Must I take/finish the MCPD: EAD 2.0 before I can start the MCPD: EAD 3.5?

2) Someone told me that MCPD 3.5 in general ONLY covers the new additions from 2.0~3.5, in other words, does MCPD 3.5 completes MCPD 2.0 or replacesit completely?

3) When I was asking about (70-562) ASP.NET Application Development 3.5 (which is a part of MCPD: EAD 3.5 of course) I was told that if I never used ASP.NET before then I must take the "MCTS: .NET Framework 2.0 Web Applications" first, is that true?

Well, that's it, thanks in advance.

WIP: MCPD: EAD 3.5
  2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Hi, why not introduce yourself here and be a part of this community :)

No, you take the certification based on which version you actually work with.

No, if you already have the MCPD for version 2, then the upgrade exams only covers the differences between the two. if you are starting from fresh, then you will be tested on all the objectives.

I haven't heard that one before, however MS do recommend doing the 70-536: TS: Microsoft .NET Framework – Application Development Foundation. This exam is the foundation prerequisite for all Visual Studio 2005 and Visual Studio 2008 MCTS and MCPD certifications.

See here.

Hope this helps :)

-ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+