Proxy web servers and browsers

Discussion in 'Windows Server 2003 / 2008 / 2012 / 2016' started by Ally, Feb 7, 2006.

1. Ally

Ally Byte Poster

Hey everyone, im just looking for resources or links for any good information regarding proxy servers and proxy web browsers as i have limited knowledge in this area :oops: I will be sitting ISA server shortly as part of my MCSE but would like some background knowledge jus now!
    If im correct, a web cache server such as ISA will service requests on behalf of its clients to keep its clients from bein exposed on the internet and cache these requests. Does this also require all clients browsers to be set up with a proxy script or something to ensure that all its request go through the ISA server??
    Any help appreciated :D :D

Certifications: 70-270, 70-290, 70-291 & 70-294
    WIP: 70-293
  2. Bluerinse
    Honorary Member

Bluerinse Exabyte Poster

Ye gods Ally, if you are going to sit ISA *shortly* you should know the answer to your question :eek: ISA is a tough exam and it isn't made any easier by the fact that the exam focuses on the Enterprise edition, meaning clustering!

You will find some good articles and a semi-decent forum at http://www.isaserver.org

ISA is a firewall and a proxy server, how it works depends on which type of installation you chose and which client/s are being used.

1) You can install the Firewall Client, this is software that will run on Windows systems. The software can automatically configure the browser for the web proxy settings as well or you can use WPAD (windows proxy automatic detection) entries in DNS or DHCP or both. If you use the Firewall Client software, proper user/group credentials are passed to the ISA server. This enables ISA to filter requests based on user or group membership. Without the Firewall Client software all requests are handled as anonymous.