Protecting Images on a website

Discussion in 'Web Development & Web Hosting' started by Dazzo, Jun 6, 2013.

1. Dazzo

Dazzo Byte Poster

Hi All,

I have my site up and running and I am almost to a point to add the images (it's a gallery of my trip).

I wanted to protect the images so people are unable to take them and use them as they are personal to myself and GF but I had this idea and wanted to see it through.

Any ideas or tips?

Kind Regards,
    Darren

Certifications: A+, MOS: Master 2010, Network +
  2. rocdamike

rocdamike Byte Poster Gold Member

I'm not really an expert in this, but you could use javascript to disable 'right clicking' any images in your gallery.

Another alternative would be to use a service like Digimarc which digitally watermarks your photos and allows you to monitor and track whether your images are used on any other websites.

Certifications: F5 CTS, LTM | F5-CA | CCNA: Sec | CCNA: R&S | ITIL Foundation
    WIP: AWS Solutions Architect
  3. Dazzo

Dazzo Byte Poster

I'll try both of those and keep looking for more stuff. It was only as a practice so I might not host the site unless I need to show it to a potential employer and come up with a new idea!

Thanks

4. ade1982

ade1982 Megabyte Poster

JavaScript is normally the way, but there are always ways around it. It just inconveniences them for a bit.

5. BB88

BB88 Kilobyte Poster Gold Member

Couple of things:

• Add a watermark to the image in a couple of places.
    • Make the images private.
    • Also nothing stopping people using the Print Screen button or software to capture the screen.

Certifications: CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, MCSA: Office 365,, 70-410, 70-680
    WIP: CompTIA: Security+
  6. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

The images get downloaded and stored in the browser cache, anyone with some smarts can get them from there.