Project Management

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by mattwest, May 18, 2006.

1. mattwest

mattwest Megabyte Poster

Hey,

I'm a 3rd line IT Technician who gets involved in all things 3rd line and also alot of project work for new roll outs, system upgrades etc.

I enjoy my job, the training is excellent and the pay not that bad (although, as always could be better!)

I have aspirations for a management position in IT anyway so i'm just completed a team leading certificate at my local college plus i'm developing other soft skills.

I'm also considering IT Project Management as a field i think i would enjoy, i am a techie but deep down i prefer managing projects to the nitty gritty of router config etc.

How do you guys think i should or could go about getting into this side of things?

I'm due to go on an ITIL course soon and hopefully the Prince2 Foundation course in the future. My local college is also offering a Level 5 Diploma in Project Management but i'm not sure its worth the effort?

Any ideas? Suggestions? Thanks!! :D

Certifications: See my signature...
    WIP: Maybe re-certify my CCNA
  2. zimbo
    Honorary Member

zimbo Petabyte Poster

Im not too sure if you know about it and sorry cant tell you much about it.. :oops: but i know there is the PMP (Project Management Professional) certification. Click here for more info

Certifications: B.Sc, MCDST & MCSA
    WIP: M.Sc - Computer Forensics
  3. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

Not too sure about these project management certifications myself, surely things such as project management are best assessed by actual experience of doing it, and learning as you go? :blink

4. zimbo
    Honorary Member

zimbo Petabyte Poster

i actually thought it was a highly respected certification simon? or have i got something mixed up here? :blink

5. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?