Professional Development, but not in IT

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Kitkatninja, May 27, 2009.

1. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Hi All,

Had a thought (yes, it did hurt a bit :biggrin ), I want to do more than only IT CPD, so I thought about what else I could do... So I thought about management, after all I'm an IT manager and I want to move up.

With this in mind, I've decided to work towards a management qualification and see about joining the ILM, both later on in the year (most likely Q4).

Has anyone had any dealing with the ILM? Or if anyone has made the move to upper/higher management, I'd love to hear what route you took :)

-Ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  2. JK2447

JK2447 Petabyte Poster Administrator Premium Member

Hiya Ken, I've got the Team Leader Certificate from the ILM. I thought it was really good to be honest. It was administered through Edge Hill Uni local to me and the tutor came to our office to teach a class half day once a week.

A few of our managers did the Diploma and enjoyed it.

It looks good on your CV and as you rightly say mate, there's more to a CV than just technical skills.

Is there a higher role in your place for you or would you have to move on?

Cheers

Jim

Certifications: VCP4, 5, 6, 6.5, 6.7, 7, 8, VCAP DCV Design, VMConAWS Skill, Google Cloud Digital Leader, BSc (Hons), HND IT, HND Computing, ITIL-F, MBCS CITP, MCP (270,290,291,293,294,298,299,410,411,412) MCTS (401,620,624,652) MCSA:Security, MCSE: Security, Security+, CPTS, CCA (XenApp6.5), MCSA 2012, VSP, VTSP
    WIP: Google Cloud Certs
  3. Kitkatninja

Well at my place, no, I'm at the highest level I can go. Even though I'm not actively looking, I want to/have to plan for the future. I want to ensure that if anything happened, I'm suitably qualified/skilled.

-ken