Possible to pass A+ with just the Meyers book?

Discussion in 'A+' started by jaybee, Aug 26, 2007.

1. jaybee

jaybee New Member

I am a high school IT teacher who wants to pass A+ mainly to get a better grasp of how PCs work. I'm pretty familiar with software, not much with hardware.

1) Is it possible to pass the test just by reading the Meyers book? I get the general concepts OK, but I have a hard time identifying the components that the book mentions because they don't look the same on different motherboards. Should I therefore take a class or get a video so that I will be able to actually see what the components look like?

2) I live in Northampton UK--where is the closest A+ certification class?

3) How helpful are the various training videos?

2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

I would say it is possible to pass just using the book, but if you dont know what the components look like then maybe a video would be a good thing for you to get.

You could always get a PC from a junk shop or recycling centre so you can see what the parts look like, then you can practice on it .

I would recommend a cheap PC instead of a video, I got one for £30 from a recycling centre

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. nXPLOSi

nXPLOSi Terabyte Poster

I'd agree with green, A+ is entry level so I dont think classes are really needed, grab yourself and old PC you can open up and go through the Meyers book, cant go wrong.

Good luck with it :)

Certifications: A+, Network+, Security+, MCSA 2003 (270, 290, 291), MCTS (640, 642), MCSA 2008
    WIP: MCSA 2012
  4. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster