Pls Help! Breaking into IT Finance/Banking Sector for Support?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Adzmobile, May 1, 2011.

1. Adzmobile

Adzmobile Nibble Poster

Hi,

I have been viewing this site for quite a while now but have really never asked anything before.. but was looking for some advice.

I am 24 years old and working in London City.. I am a IT graduate and also have around 3 years experience.. although its not much I have quite solid experience in 1st-2nd line support and reasonable 3rd line.. things like AD, Exchange Migration etc..

What i would like to know if anyone could tell me would be very much appreciated is.. how on earth do you break into finance sector... although im solid with all the experience they ask for, I dont have finance experience... I have worked in the Legal sector and familiar with pressured environments etc..

Is there anything I could do in particular to increase my chances of working in finance.. I have no idea how to get experience with bloomberg and reuters and things.. I have tried to download bloomberg only to discover you need to pay a huge monthly cost lol stupid i know to even think i could just put it on my pc for free..

Even if im sent back to 1st line support I dont mind.. but just getting foot through the door..

Of course im doing my best sweet talking the recruiters but any tips or anything from anyone that managed to break into finance sector?

Cheers guys, much appreciated... :)

Certifications: Commvault Administrator, CCNA, ITILv3, CCA for XenApp 6, CCAA for XenApp 6.5, CCA for XenDesktop 5, CCA for NetScaler 9.2, CCA for XenServer 6,VMware VCP5, VSTP 5, HP SMB Storage, Citrix Certified Enterprise Engineer (CCEE), EMCISA, VCAP-DCA
    WIP: DCUCI
  2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Please take in mind that I do not work in the financial sector, I'm only going by what I've seen/heard.