Please can i have some advise on tools to buy.

Discussion in 'A+' started by jimbo0282, Feb 13, 2008.

1. jimbo0282

jimbo0282 Bit Poster

Hi there everyone!

Im just about to order the mike myers all in one book, i have got myself a P.C. for the hands on, all i need now is a decent tool kit. Please can you lovely guys and gals out there advise me on a good quality tool kit as i would rather buy a good one now so i know i have the right gear and it wont break on me. I do have a good quality mechanics tools kit at work as i currently work in a garage, so i might already have some of the tools i need but if i can see what tools you get in a PC tecnicians kit i can go from there. Sorry about the long winded question, hope you can help.

Thank you

Jimbo!

Certifications: none
    WIP: A+
  2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

Hi Welcome

Usually all you'll need is an ESD wristrap and a Phillips and Flathead screw driver (non magnetic would be better).

You can get full PC Technician toolkits from maplins http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=33778&C=Maplin&U=SearchTop&T=computer toolkit&doy=13m2 it doesn't come with an ESD wriststrap so you'll need to get one seperately.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

GBL is spot on there.

My experience with garage toolsets is that they are rather larger than those required for PCs. :biggrin But at least you know that a good toolset is an asset!

Edit: Also consider getting a cheap Digital Multimeter. Maplins do these at very reasonable prices. One costing about £20 will be perfectly good.

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  4. Theprof

Theprof Petabyte Poster