Please advise!

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Gunner81, Jan 2, 2012.

1. Gunner81

Gunner81 Bit Poster

Hi guys!
    I want a bit of advise from all the helpful members here. I have done A+ and I have done 70-270. But these I did like 4 years back when I had no experience. I then got a job in a telecom company as a tech support, but it did not involve computers but involved supporting customers with landline issues. I had thought that once I got a bit of phone experience I would then try to apply for level 1 tech support for computers. Then I actually got comfortable with my current job and have been in it for 4 years now.

This job is currently not helping further my career. I have the customer facing experience and even troubleshooting experience but I need to get into IT tech support. I guess I would have to look for lvl 1 helpdesk role for it. But I am confused as I guess I would have to study for a certification again as MCP that I studied for I can recall only bits and pieces. What do you think I should do to get into IT. Should I do certain certifications again and then look for a new job? If so what certifications should I do?
    Do let me know.
    Thanks a lot :)

Certifications: A+, MCP (70-270)
    WIP: Network+, MCITP
  2. onoski

onoski Terabyte Poster

Having read you post above I would say you have some advantage that others might not have as in you're working in the IT field. I do however, understand that your current role is customer facing and am assuming that your duties involves some troubleshooting over the phone etc.

Well with regards to certification this would boil down to which area of IT you want to advance into and hence the A+ cert and the MCP would be your best bet. On the other hand start looking for more hands on related tech roles such as helpdesk support, 1st line support and desktop support roles.

All the best and let us know what you decide. Cheerio:)