Planning to do A+

Discussion in 'A+' started by vivek_master146, Nov 27, 2008.

1. vivek_master146

vivek_master146 Bit Poster

Hi Friends,
    This is my first post in this forum. My name is Vivek. I am from delhi,India. I am doing a degree in Computer Applications(BCA). I am operating PC with Window OS since 6 years and i am always hungry to gain more and more knowledge of computers. I have learn C,C++,VB programming and SEO,Flash through self-study.

I have seen the syllabus of COMPTIA A+ and found it really good. I am mainly interested in application programming but i also want to learn some basics of hardware like assembling PC, installing hardware components like Gfx card, Ram, HD etc. I am also interested to know Window XP in depth.

Does COMPTIA Essentials teach basics of hardware(practical and theoretical both) ?

and what is the other exam i should opt for?

Would 602 be fine as it is well balanced?

I contacted a prometric center and they are charging around Rs 9000(US $ 200 including VAT) for A+ Training.(excluding exam)

I always do self-study but as it involves hardware i want to go for training. They are providing 60 hours training.

Please advise that should i go for these test centers for training or look for some reputed IT institutes?

2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

The A+ teaches both hardware and operating systems. Most people do the 602 after the mandatory essentials exam. Although you can do them in any order you want.

If you self study normally then just carry on, get your self an old pc to practice taking to pieces etc and read up on the study guides.

The best books to get are compTIA A+ all in one exam guide by Mike Meyers and PC Technician street smarts by James Pyles.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. vivek_master146

Thanks for reply.

The price of A+ Certification All-in-One Exam Guide, Sixth Edition in Amazon is US $ 37.