1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.


Discussion in 'Computer Security' started by zxspectrum, Aug 24, 2006.

  1. zxspectrum

    zxspectrum Gigabyte Poster Premium Member

    i got an email containing this text today

    Dear PayPal customer!

    As part of our security measures, we regularly screen activity in the
    PayPal system. We recently contacted you after noticing an issue on
    account.We requested information from you for the following reason:

    We recently received a report of credit card use
    associated with this account. As a precaution, we have limited access
    to your
    PayPal account in order to protect against future unauthorized
    transactions.You can check your transaction details in attachment.

    Case ID Number: TT-022-421-683

    If, after reviewing your transaction information, you
    seek further clarification regarding your account access, please
    PayPal by visiting the Help Center and clicking "Contact Us".

    We thank you for your prompt attention to this matter. Please
    understand that this is a security measure intended to help protect you
    and your
    account. We apologize for any inconvenience.

    PayPal Account Review Department

    Has anyone had similar, there was also an attatchment with it and i downloaded it as well , i dont normally do this but i did virus scan it and nothing was found. I am however womdering what the crack is ai havent used my paypal account in ages , im wondering if its a hoax etc or something more sinister ???:oops:
    Certifications: BSc computing and information systems
    WIP: 70-680
  2. Mr.Cheeks

    Mr.Cheeks 1st ever Gold Member! Gold Member

    I thought PayPal contacts users by their name, Dear Eddie, and not sir... or is it another site im thinking of?

    But it does seem dodgy.

    btw: not being a paypal user, what type of limit have the limited? :blink
  3. wizard

    wizard Petabyte Poster

    I think all emails from paypal will actually greet you by name and will have a security reference at the bottom of the email.
    Certifications: SIA DS Licence
    WIP: A+ 2009
  4. zebulebu

    zebulebu Terabyte Poster

    It is a SCAM
    Certifications: A few
    WIP: None - f*** 'em
  5. Boycie
    Honorary Member

    Boycie Senior Beer Tester


    I have had hundreds of e-mails that claim they are from Paypal, but can count on one hand the amount that are genuine.

    The genuine ones will always be headed with the full name you registered with, usually contain plain text and usually are for billing or to remind you your registered bank card is about to expire.

    In fact, there is no real need to reply, even if genuine. Logging in to paypal.com will alert you of any issues.

    Certifications: MCSA 2003, MCDST, A+, N+, CTT+, MCT
  6. zimbo
    Honorary Member

    zimbo Petabyte Poster

    also paypal never disclose your number or details and its always HTTPS.

    Report it to paypal!:(
    Certifications: B.Sc, MCDST & MCSA
    WIP: M.Sc - Computer Forensics
  7. Fire guy

    Fire guy Bit Poster

    I got this email today to an account that is not registered with Paypal. That's how I knew it was dodgy.
    Also if you hover your mouse over the link it has to "Paypal" in the message it starts off with an IP address and then the http:///Paypal...etc The real paypal site does'nt do this.
    Certifications: A+
    WIP: N+
  8. zxspectrum

    zxspectrum Gigabyte Poster Premium Member

    Cheers for that guys
    Certifications: BSc computing and information systems
    WIP: 70-680
  9. hbroomhall

    hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

    As zeb said - this is a scam. I've been getting these emails for well over a year now - and I don't even have a paypal account!

    I get similar ones for ebay.

    The trick is usualy in the URL - which is malformed, and you go to a site that *looks* like the original, but is on the scammers machine.

    It then invites you to put in your personal details.... and you can guess the rest!

    One of the big changes in IE7 is to try and highlight such malformed URLs.

    Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  10. Lord Deckard

    Lord Deckard Byte Poster

    Working for a bank, I get hundreds of calls/emails asking if we've sent out an email asking the customer to re-confirm their security details..... as if!
    Like Harry says, they usually look fairly convincing as it's easy enough to get hold of a genuine e-mail. Sometimes the grammar/wording is a dead giveaway but they usually ask you to click on a link. The link may *look* real but if you mouse over it, it'll end up being to some dodgy site you've never heard of.
    Remember the golden rule, if you're not sure then don't click!
    Certifications: A+, MCDST
    WIP: N+ and CCNA
  11. ffreeloader

    ffreeloader Terabyte Poster

    Take a look at the source code for the email. The real IP addresses or url's where you would have been sent had you clicked on one of the links in the email are usually pretty easy to see. Once you have identified where the email would have sent you traceroute PayPal and traceroute what you find in the source code. It's interesting sometimes just to see where you would have been taken. It's also good practice for reading html and identifying scams.
    Certifications: MCSE, MCDBA, CCNA, A+
    WIP: LPIC 1

Share This Page