Passed N+, what next?

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by livingwater, Apr 28, 2011.

1. livingwater

livingwater Bit Poster

I was a secondary school teacher in my mid 40’s and decided to leave. Took the A+ and found another job working for a Training Provider that trains mechanics, carpenters etc who have to do Maths, English and ICT and I am their ICT tutor.

I’m also their one and only network administrator (yes, just me). Obviously I jumped at the chance of this job after six months of being out of work. I can now say ‘I have experience’. I made it clear at interview that my A+ and the N+ I was working towards did not qualify to run a network, especially on my own. Anyways, I got the job. They are running server 2003.

Just passed my Network on the 20th April - scored 824.

The point of my post is to understand what to do next. I have looked around (and posted on) this site and looked at Microsoft sites and find the qualifications very confusing. I have read Craigie’s ‘Microsoft Certification Road Map’ (thanks Craigie) and although this is a useful reference for me it still leaves me a little daunted as to what to do next or what makes up a qualification. I think this is my road map: advice would be welcome:
    70-680
    70-685
    Which I think qualifies me as a MCITP: Enterprise Desktop Support Technician

Then
    70-640
    70-642
    70-646
    Which I think qualifies me as a MCITP: Server Administrator?

I realise that these deal with server 2008, but thought they would do (I’m thinking towards the future here)

Thanks in advance – Livingwater

Certifications: A+, N+
  2. soundian

soundian Gigabyte Poster