OS views

Discussion in 'Software' started by IThurts, Apr 22, 2008.

1. IThurts

IThurts Kilobyte Poster

I have wondered what the big deal is with Linux and these other open source OS's.

Can someone give me some idea as to what advantage Linux/other OS could give me over windows?(without people frothing at the mouth :) )

And which do you use?

Cheers!!

Certifications: BTEC national Diploma Computer Studies
    WIP: See Sig
  2. Stoney

Stoney Megabyte Poster

Well for a start they are free (in most cases), and a lot of the applications that are written for them are free also.

Most viruses etc are targeted at Windows based operating systems, so this automatically reduces the threat of attack on your system. Also the LINUX system is more secure than Windows.

LINUX o/s tend to to use less resources to run than Windows, so you can run LINUX on a lower spec machine with no reduction in performance.

I'm no LINUX expert but it is something I am keen to use in the near future. No doubt Freddy will be a long shortly to give you a few more plus points.

HTH

Certifications: 25 + 50 metre front crawl
    WIP: MCSA - Exam 70-270
  3. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

I tried ubuntu once but I didn't have any need for it and am happy with xp so I got rid.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  4. IThurts

IThurts Kilobyte Poster

Can linux run games...:blink ? Like the windows based games....stupid question really when i think about it

5. Raffaz

Raffaz Kebab Lover Gold Member

Ive tried ubuntu in the past and i think its a great OS, the problem i have is that i would have to re-learn from scratch on how to use it properly and i havent got the time.

Certifications: A+, MCP, MCDST, AutoCAD
    WIP: Rennovating my house
  6. demarrer

demarrer Byte Poster

I installed Ubuntu (gusty) about 4 months ago switching from xp. I think its true that it uses less resources than xp.